Do I have to work on public holidays?

Learn which days are holidays under federal laws

The Canada Labour Code gives most workers who are covered by federal laws 9 paid holidays each year. They're called “statutory holidays”.

New Year's Day January 1
Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday (falls either in March or April)
Victoria Day Monday before May 25
Canada Day July 1
Labour Day first Monday in September
Thanksgiving Day second Monday in October
Remembrance Day November 11
Christmas Day December 25
Boxing Day December 26
Hide this website